John’s List

Shopping locally has so many advantages.  By this I mean shopping at locally owned stores, not Big Box or franchise operations where the staff is often as distant and impersonal as the company headquarters hundreds of miles away.  Whenever possible, I like to shop where the owner, manager, or long time clerk and I are on a first name basis.  Yes, sometimes it costs more, but not always. I figure that when you add up the positives of your money staying in the community, the lack of hassles with returns or exchanges, the added bonus of the shopkeeper knowing who you are and helping you make a better buying decision, it probably costs less.  Add to this the fact that you are now dealing with a friend, someone who can brighten your day, or whose day you can brighten, you’re way ahead of the game.  It is with this in mind that I am going to list a few of the businesses I’ve found in the area that meet the above criteria.  Most are in my hometown of Franklin Massachusetts.  Some are in neighboring towns.  So, in no particular order, here’s where I “Shop Local”.

  • Grace Bicycles, 1574 Washington Street, Holliston Massachusetts.  Roy and Scott are two guys who I trust with all my cycling wants and needs.  From an custom built artisan bicycle frame to help with a flat tire, this shop has what I need. They support local rides from the shop where you can hook up with other cyclists.  Roy is always willing to listen to my latest joke and Scott’s been known to fix a flat or two on my bike even on group rides.
  • Fairmount Fruit Farm, 87 Lincoln Street, Franklin Massachusetts.  The freshest eggs around, local produce (in season), and plenty of locally sourced maple syrup, honey, and baked goods.  CJ and the rest of the staff are always there to serve you.
  • Out Post Farm 30 Prentice Street, Holliston Massachusetts.  I joined their Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) program two years ago.  Adrian and his crew put out an amazing variety of fresh produce throughout the growing season, week after week.  They know I like mustard greens, so they add an extra bunch to my “share” when they can.  Got to love that!
  • Holliston Superette, 777 Washington St, Holliston, Massachusetts.  When I am looking for a particular cut of meat or high quality seafood (they carry Captain Marden’s), this is my go to place.  Chris has never let me down, even when I needed twelve pounds of special cut short ribs on short notice.
  • Daddario Hardware,528 West Central Street, Franklin Massachusetts.  Where else can you get the hardware, plumbing and electrical supplies you need plus some of the best pickles you’ve ever had?  The staff here is always eager to help with your project and if you’re like me, you need all the help you can get.  No need to wander the aisles looking for someone to answer a question here.  And don’t forget the pickles.
  • Pour Richard’s Wine and Spirits, 14 Grove Street, Franklin Massachusetts. Ann & John opened their shop about a year ago.  It’s hard to find which seems fitting because they carry a hard to find section of wine, craft beer, and spirits.  They also take community involvement to a new level as they host fund raisers on the premises for any group or community cause.
  • The Village Groomer and Pet Supply / Chickadee Seed & Feed! . 2245 Boston Providence Highway, Walpole, Massachusetts.  Missi has an smile that makes my day every time I shop for dog food, treats, grooming tools, or bird food at these two businesses side by side on Route 1 in Walpole.  Mike never fails to ask me how the beagle it doing and is always there with advice on nutrition for Trixie.
  • Sweet Basil, 942 Great Plain Ave, Needham, Massachusetts.  I hesitate to put this restaurant on this list, only because I want to keep it for myself and not have to wait for a table.  By far my favorite restaurant, bar none.  Be warned, they do not take credit cards or checks and they do not take reservations.  They also do not serve beverages other than water, but you are welcome to bring your own bottle of wine (or beer) for a $5 corkage fee.  Owner Dave usually stops by talk about the food.  I’ve never had a meal here that was less than great.  They do not serve dessert but trust me, you won’t have room anyway.  If need be, stop by Abbott’s Frozen Custard next door for cone if you have to.So that’s it.  Enjoy!

About John May

Resident of Franklin Massachusetts, working to create a better world for my children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment